• Clues Dot Life
  • Posts
  • Healing from trauma, breaking free from Silicon Valley, and charting a new course in life | My full story on the Vulnerable podcast with James Roycroft-Davis

Healing from trauma, breaking free from Silicon Valley, and charting a new course in life | My full story on the Vulnerable podcast with James Roycroft-Davis

A few weeks ago, I spent over an hour and a half discussing my journey of emotional healing on the Vulnerable podcast. It’s a great new podcast that’s explicitly focused on mental health for entrepreneurs. If you’re curious about my end-to-end journey, I recommend listening to it. It’s my favorite interview yet.

Podcast notes

[2:50] - discussing my background and how it contributed to mental illness

[9:15] - my clinical diagnoses and how they formed

[14:15] - grief and the role of culture in helping us learn how to grieve gracefully

[18:25] - high achievement, nature vs. nurture, and understanding ourselves

[22:44] - the concept of "hardware vs. software” and rewriting core beliefs

[27:56] - workaholism and leaving Silicon Valley to focus on healing

[34:03] - my experience in a psychiatric hospital

[39:48] - my career and how I got started in Silicon Valley via non-traditional means

[50:36] - when and how mental illness popped up in my late 20’s

[1:00:06] - the stigma of mental health and how to talk about it

[1:07:22] - venture capital, entrepreneurship, and mental health

[1:15:40] - treating mental wellness like we treat pro athletes

[1:23:10] - my thoughts on the future of mental health and how it’s treated

[1:27:05] - where I’m at in my journey and what’s next for me

Reply

or to participate.